Armed With Duct Tape

…'cause duct tape fixes everything!

Mary,Mary Quite contrary… June 4, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — swedblue @ 9:03 pm

How does your garden grow?

DSC_0893

DSC_0203

DSC_0258

DSC_0585

DSC_0589

DSC_0593

DSC_0594

DSC_0607

DSC_0624

 

5 Responses to “Mary,Mary Quite contrary…”

  1. Jude Marget Says:

    Wow, I am sooooo jealous as my garden is not even in yet. For 4 reasons:
    1. weather has been cold and raining for many days in May. 😦
    2. I took down down post & fence as the post were almost falling over (rotten). I decided to while the post and fence was gone I wanted to increase the sizeof the garden but this probably not the year to do that.
    3. I decided to put a vertical structure to increase the size. I have the materials but have not put it in yet. Joyce and I went to a workshop about it. It sounded like it would be easy. Will see.
    4. My right knee has bothered me again. I went to the orthopedic Dr today and he put in cortisone shot into the knee. So it better work cause I have things to do!

  2. Jude Marget Says:

    Oops. Changes

    Wow, I am sooooo jealous as my garden is not even in yet.
    For 4 reasons:
    1. weather has been cold and raining in May.
    2. I took down the posts & fence as the posts were almost falling over (rotten). I decided to while the posts and fence was gone I wanted to increase the size of the garden but this probably not the year to do that.
    3. I decided to put a vertical structure in to increase the size. I have the materials but have not put it in yet. Joyce and I went to a workshop about it. It sounded like it would be easy. Will see.
    4. My right knee has bothered me again. I went to the orthopedic Dr today and he put in cortisone shot into the knee. So it better work cause I have things to do!

    There is a good thing…we are no longer in a drought.

  3. So are you planting the seed into the mulch or the soil and then covering it in after it is growing?

    • Jude Marget Says:

      I am planting directly into the soil and then cover the unused soil with a weed barrier. I have tomatoes, cukes and green peppers are ready to go in. Carrots, green onions (which I have 25 onion sets ready to go in).I tested the soil earlier and found there was ZERO nitrogen in the soil. So I put in 8 bags of bovine manure and rototilled it in. NOW IF IT EVER STOPS RAINING so I can get things done!

    • swedblue Says:

      I moved the mulch and planted into the soil on some. In places the mulch was pretty thick and I planted right into it. The only plants in the garden not planted from seed: tomatoes and peppers, everything else came up. I did put blood meal on the plants about a month ago, and they seem to do much better.


Leave a Reply

