Armed With Duct Tape

…'cause duct tape fixes everything!

Caramelized Leek and Onion Pizza March 12, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — swedblue @ 3:04 pm

As some of you know, my hubby is allergic to onions. I myself hated onions growing up-couldn’t stand them.  Onions were just starting to taste good, and I enjoyed cooking with them.  Then….

…I met the man whom nary an onion or his lips shall meet.  For almost 6 years now I have cooked without onions.  I love going out to eat, cause I can get an onion fix.  Hubs has told me all along that he didn’t want me to give them up and if I wanted to cook with them I could.  The past year, I have allowed myself that luxury every so often (esp at Thanksgiving and making dressing).   A few weeks ago, I got a co-op basket that had 4 onions in it, and then the next one I got 2 weeks after that had 2 leeks in it.  Normally, I give these items away, but I held on to them, ’cause I love leeks.

What could I do with them, and the first thing that popped in my mind was to caramelize the onions and leeks..and then pizza.

IMG_3515

So, I set about caramelizing them.  At lunch…during the week…cause my hubs wasn’t home.  Oh, the smell was glorious!  Boy did I work to get the smell out of the house before he got home.

Once the onions and leeks started to caramelize, I threw in some spinach…if I had mushrooms, they would have made their way on the pizza, too.   I used 3 types of cheese, as that is what I had in the house.  Instead of sauce, I laid 4 slices of Provolone down before the toppings.

IMG_3517

Caramelized Onion and Leek Pizza

1 onion
1 leek
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp butter
1 cup spinach + 1/4 cup
Provolone cheese
Parmesan Cheese
Mozzarella Cheese

Directions:

Clean and thinly slice leeks.  Slice onions.  On medium-high heat melt butter and add olive oil.  Add leeks and onions-cook for 20-30 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Just before taking off heat, add 1 cup spinach to wilt.

Preheat oven to 425.  Roll out your pizza crust, prick with a fork and brush with olive oil.  Put in the oven for 5 minutes.  Pull it out, place provolone down first, top with onion, leek, spinach mixture.  Sprinkle with oregano.  Add fresh spinach, sprinkle with mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses.

Bake for 10-15 minutes.

IMG_3519

 

One Response to “Caramelized Leek and Onion Pizza”

  1. Katy Says:

    That looks delicious……so gourmet!


Leave a Reply

