Armed With Duct Tape

…'cause duct tape fixes everything!

Peppermint Kiss Sandwiches December 15, 2012

Filed under: dessert — swedblue @ 10:36 am

Every once in a while, Pinterest does inspire me, where I come up with an idea that I didn’t see on it.  Though I am sure this is out there.  The inspiration to these little treats was pin for rolo crackers.  My mom had purchased some Peppermint Hersey’s Kisses.  I thought, now why couldn’t I do the same with them?

These are easy to do, and I dipped them in chocolate at the end.  Now, outside of chocolate and peanut butter (nothing beats that), chocolate and peppermint is one of my favorite tastes.

Oh,the carnage to get to the tasty little kisses.

Oh,the carnage to get to the tasty little kisses.

After this point, I had a little boy begging to help.  So, he got place the kisses on the crackers. I went back arranged the kisses in the middle of each cracker, so they wouldn’t melt off the cracker.

So Christmasy looking!

So Christmasy looking!

Next into to a 350° oven for 3 minutes.  Then top with a second cracker.  by this point I lost my helper, so I topped the crackers myself, of course, once I was done, I had a little boy asking for one. 🙂

Half done!

Half done!

I melted dark chocolate chips in the microwave, my least favorite way to temper chocolate. Each cracker got dipped into it.  Yum!

Can't you just taste it?

Can’t you just taste it?

While my hubby likes the rolo crackers better, I liked these, maybe because I have been avoiding peppermint like a plague the past 3 years.  I am not worrying about how much I am eating this year as much.

Peppermint Crackers

Ritz or butter Crackers

Peppermint Kisses

Chocolate for dipping

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or foil.  Arrange crackers on the pan and top with kisses.

Bake for 3 minutes

Top with second cracker

Cool before dipping in the chocolate.

Microwave (or use double boiler) chocolate check after 30 seconds and stir.  Microwave in 30 second intervals till the chocolate is melted.  Dip the cracker sandwiches in the chocolate and let set up.  Enjoy!

 

2 Responses to “Peppermint Kiss Sandwiches”

  1. Christine C. Says:

    Why were you avoiding peppermint?

    • swedblue Says:

      With nursing, peppermint is know to decrease milk supply. Though we are still nursing, I am not as concerned that Tim is missing out on milk. I didn’t want my supply to decrease last year.


Leave a Reply

