Armed With Duct Tape

…'cause duct tape fixes everything!

It was Our Choice September 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — swedblue @ 11:45 am

I woke up this morning around 4:40am and looked over and saw Lil’ Bit sharing his daddy’s pillow.  I knew he was in bed with us, as I brought him into bed around 1 am.  There are nights that instinctively I know are going to be good or bad.  Last night, was going to be a bad one. Lil’ Bit barely ate anything solid yesterday, so it was going to be a night of feedings.  After the second waking an hour after the first was my cue to bring him to bed, where he could eat without waking me up.  To me there is nothing so sweet as to see our boys cuddling up to their father.

Who can resist those beautiful blue eyes?

What started out as necessity of getting some sleep, ended up with Lil’ Bit sleeping with us from 5 months till he was 1 year old.  While Josh and I both knew we want Lil’ Bit to sleep in his own bed, there was no rush to get him out of our bed.  He has now been in a room with his brother for over a month now.  Just like last night, he has bad nights where he is waking up every hour after 12am, but we also have a lot of good nights where he only wakes up 2-3 time a night.

Yes, I would love to have him sleep all night, but until he is weaned, I doubt that will happen anytime soon. Pete was 18 months old when he weaned (and about that old, when he started sleeping through the night).  It is my choice to continue to nurse my children after they are 1, and I know from experience that it means not having a full night of sleep.

God has been gracious to me, but providing His strength on the days I feel that I can’t go on.

 
He energizes those who get tired,
    gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out,
    young folk in their prime stumble and fall.
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength.
    They spread their wings and soar like eagles,
They run and don’t get tired,
    they walk and don’t lag behind. ~Isa 40:29-31

 

One Response to “It was Our Choice”

  1. Katy Says:

    Good for your for continuing to nurse past a year!! I just weaned P a couple weeks ago. But I will specifically be praying that your little one will start sleeping through the night soon. Pearson nursed until 14 months but slept through the night long before that, so it is possible to nurse and sleep through the night. Hopefully Lil Bit will get that memo soon!!!


Leave a Reply

