Armed With Duct Tape

…'cause duct tape fixes everything!

Isle of Misfits August 11, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — swedblue @ 12:10 pm

I’ll admit it. I…

…am

…a misfit.

The isle isn’t very crowded, in fact it is quite lonely at times.  I have been trying for years to fit in, but you know what? No matter what I do, I will always be on the edge of most groups.

But I have come to find out a simple truth.  I am not alone.  There are thousands of women who also feel they are misfits.  Just like me,they want to be in the “cool” group.  We spend a lot of time and money trying to be accepted and invited in.  If we just curl our hair this way, find the perfect shirt and pants with the cutest shoes, we’ll get noticed and accepted.

That is it.  We want, no crave acceptance.  No matter who we are.

I’ve been thinking a lot about this the past few days, as I have been on the edge a group feeling even more isolated and a misfit.  Then I hear a quiet voice.

I have to calm my own thoughts to listen. There in the quiet, I hear, “My child, you are MINE!  I accept you.  I created you to be you.  You are unique, that is the way I created you. You belong the only group that counts.”

Are you feeling a bit of a misfit?  Come join me on the isle, our group is always open for another.

 

2 Responses to “Isle of Misfits”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Amen, sister! Elisa just sent me the link to your blog! Your boys are adorable. Here’s our blog, although it hasn’t been updated since Feb.! http://souders4.blogspot.com/. I have recently quit my full-time job to stay home (just doing a little medical transcribing from home), so I will have to try and get our blog updated here soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

