Armed With Duct Tape

…'cause duct tape fixes everything!

Are you up for the challenge? June 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — swedblue @ 9:52 pm

A few weeks ago, I was feeling pretty discontented with my house.  A lot of it stymied from it being cluttered, and that I am not the world’s best house keeper.  I like my house, but not in love with it.  I posted a few comments on my facebook page, and my sister-in-law gently prodded me to look through a lens of thankfulness.

For a while now, I have been reading a blog by Ann Volskamp.  I love her insights and gentle reminders.  I have been wanting to read her book A Thousand Gifts for a while now. I finally picked it up this week, and was promptly knocked to my knees.  I haven’t finished the book yet, but it has already challenged me.  She challenges the reader that a full life is one that thrives on thankfulness and seeing God in the small things.  She was in a hard place in her life, and she challenged herself to come up with 1,000 God-gifts (things she was thankful for, made her smile, or felt love) in a year.  That is 3 a day.  As she started her 1,000 list journey, her attitude began to change.

So, I decided to take up the challenge.  So far I have 22 on my list.  What about you?  Are you having a hard time seeing God lately?  Feeling discontented with life and feel the only way to be content is to have more things?  I’d be happy to have you join me on the 1,000 gift challenge.

Gift # 20-The baby blue eyes that I wake up to every morning.

Gift #21- My 2 yr old’s laughing eyes.

 

 

2 Responses to “Are you up for the challenge?”

  1. Kay Says:

    I try to remember this:
    Happiness Is Getting What You Want. Success Is Wanting What You Get.
    Life changes everyday. I try to enjoy the present not what I think could have been or will be in the future.

    • swedblue Says:

      I think that happiness comes from finding joy in what we have. If I can’t have something that I want, it drives me batty,and I am not happy. Jesus said, that He came to give us a full abundant life-when I read that, it not possessions but what fills us with joy. That is the point of the challenge, what gifts has God given us that fill us with joy, love and thankfulness.


Leave a Reply

